Latest Lakota Shout-Outs: 4.15.19

Latest Lakota Shout-Outs: 4.15.19
Posted on 04/17/2019
This is the image for the news article titled Latest Lakota Shout-Outs: 4.15.19

Destination Imagination Team Wins State, Headed to Global Finals

Six third and fourth grade students from Adena and Freedom elementary schools are headed to the Destination Imagination global finals after winning at state. The "Space Oddities" team placed first overall and first in each category at the March 30 competition. The team members are:

Adena: Hayes Megee, Sydney Oliver and Lydia Miller

Freedom: Anna Leitsch, Cohen Pollack and Cora Westendorf

West & East Student Artists Win State, National Titles

2019 Cincinnati Overture Art Awards: Over 400 entries from more than 100 schools competed in six different performing and visual arts categories this year. Visual Arts entries had to submit a portfolio of artwork that consisted of six-to-eight pieces of artwork.

Alyson Power from Lakota West won the visual arts category and received a $4,000 scholarship for her award.

Also from West, Trey Small was also awarded a $1000 finalist scholarship.  

From Lakota East, Ryan Kmieske was named a semifinalist in this category.

2019 Ohio Governor’s Youth Juried Art Exhibition: Winners of this art competition at the state level earn a spot in the 2019 Ohio Governor’s Youth Juried Art Exhibition in Columbus, Ohio which opens April 22 and closes May 16 at the James A. Rhodes State Office Tower.  With 11,500 entries at various regional locations, only 300 works were selected for the exhibition. Eight student artists from Lakota have won at this state competition.

Lakota West
Alyson Power for Scrambled Eggs
Trey Small for Dear Mama
Maddy Zimmerer for A Sunday in September

Lakota East
Julia Haug for Somewhere
Mckenna Lewis for Ice Shack
Jacob Wernke for Voltage
Anastacia Hartinger for Rechen
Alex Strack for Catching Dinner

2019 Scholastic Art and Writing Awards: Over 340,000 artworks were entered across the nation at various regional sites with the hopes of progressing to the national competition. Representing the top 1% in the country by winning at this level, seven Lakota students came home victorious.

Lakota West

Trey Small made Lakota West history by winning the silver medal for his portfolio titled For the Culture. He also received a silver medal for his painting Morning After.

Alyson Power won two silver medals, one for her painting Sleepy Head and one for her drawing Shaving Mishap.

Jeanna Sharkey brought home a silver medal for her photograph Broken Neon Dreams.

Luke Wilson won the silver medal for his photograph Caution.

Lakota East

Kaylee Grayson won the silver medal for her metals piece Coral Reef Rebirth.

East Senior Wins Big with Amazon

Hannah Nguyen was selected to receive a very special award from Amazon for her accomplishments in computer science. As one of the Amazon Future Engineer scholarship winners, Hannah will receive $40,000 over four years for college. She will also participate in an internship with Amazon after completing her freshman year in college.

LODI's Moore Named Human and Civil Rights Award Recipient

Lakota’s Aisha Moore will be the recipient of the 2019 Ohio Education Association’s Holloways/Human and Civil Rights Award. A member of LODI (Lakota Outreach Diversity and Inclusion), Aisha has led the district’s Champions for Change program since it began in 2016.

Through representatives from each of the district’s 23 schools, Champions for Change promotes inclusiveness and academic success for all of Lakota’s students. Aisha’s work with the Champions programs includes a “train the trainer” model where members received professional development and then share their knowledge with their building staff.

East Students Win State, Headed to National Tech Competition

Twelve Lakota East and five East Freshman students are headed to the national Technology Student Association (TSA) competition after winning at the state level. These students are enrolled in STEAM2 through Lakota’s partnership with Butler Tech. The students will travel to Washington D.C. to compete this summer.

Lakota East

Tech Problem Solving
Logan Tripp
Caleb Regg

Board Game Design
Grace Silverberg
Mackenzie Novean
Lisa Biehle
Logan Fox

Eliana Bujwalo-Nowak
Abigail Niehaus
Hanna Everding

Systems Control Technology
Sara Schnetzer
Megan Sheth
Allison Kessling

Lakota East Freshman

Webmaster Competition
Ashton Gibbs
Nick Lewis
Connor Miranda
Jack Nomina
Anthony Walsh